Family Time, Into My Little Heart, Kids Memorizing Psalm 103, Little Faith Lessons

One of the Quickest Ways to get God’s Word in Little Hearts

So, the last few days, we’ve been passing around this pestering fever, this aching sickness that’s crept its way into just about all of us.

And I wasn’t sure amidst all of the pillows and blankets and beds made everywhere if we’d do much more than whisper about the verses while frail bodies lay sprawled out in every direction.

memorizing Scripture with a feather

Turns out that feathers are a cheap remedy (at least for a few minutes), and I got to see each one of our little sickly people smile at least once as they climbed up on a bench and threw feathers into the air while saying life-breathing Words of God.

feather verses

writing verses

dropping feathers

writing verse

saying verses with feathers(Apparently we have quite the number of sick animals too.)

This might just be the quickest way to get God’s Words spilling out of little lips and prayerfully floating right into little hearts.

It’s a simple game with a bit of competition that I got from our homeschool curriculum (except they used a tissue or a napkin if I remember correctly – so no worries if you don’t have feathers).

Simply throw the feather(s) into the air, and try to say the whole verse before the feather touches the ground. If you don’t get through the whole verse, that’s okay, just pick the feather back up and throw it again starting right where you left off.

dropping feather

blowing feathers

throwing feathers

(And it’s totally fine to get creative and throw more than one feather, or work together and make it some sort of relay, or to have a sibling blow the feather back up before it reaches the floor… any way to get His Words preciously dropped into the minds and hearts of our kids!)

more feathers

feathers all over

And I stop to etch out more good one by one#172 smiles from feathers floating, #173 kids all sweaty and hair tangled getting up to say God’s Word, #174 two more verses memorized

Kids {Families} Memorizing Psalm 103“who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. The LORD works righteousness and justice for all the oppressed.” Psalm 103:5-6

Into My Little Heart… Week 1: Psalm 103:1-2, Week 2: Psalm 103:3-4

12 thoughts on “One of the Quickest Ways to get God’s Word in Little Hearts”

  1. What a wonderful idea!! My guys would like the competition factor, even if they are just competing against themselves. I hope your family is all feeling better soon. Love the pics, too – especially the first one, she looks just like you! Beautiful!

    Like

    1. Oh, yes, I think it’s the competition that gets them memorizing so quickly. 🙂 And, it’s a mostly “healthy” competition, as they’re trying to beat themselves. Hope you have a wonderful day!
      ~Jessica

      Like

  2. This is kind of off-topic, but I’m curious how your year is going with homeschooling – if you are still using HOD…. We started with the second guide this year and next year plan to do Beyond….. Anyway just wondering how you are doing with that all this year?

    Like

    1. Erin, I honestly almost added in an extra line or two about how homeschooling is going and to ask if anyone has any questions – as I realized just typing “homeschool curriculum” that I have done a terribly poor job at even mentioning it here. Hoping to do that soon. But, thought I’d quick let you know that we are still using HOD and are still loving it. My oldest girls are in “Preparing” this year, and it might just be my favorite guide yet – we all really, really like it. (Although the “Little Hearts” and “Beyond” are tied for a very close second.) I’d love to hear how things are going for you too if you get a chance. 🙂
      Thanks for asking!
      Have a great day!
      ~Jessica

      Like

      1. We’ve had a really good year so far with Little Hearts for His Glory. I really like how everything is prepared for me because I am not a creative person in that area. If it was left to me, my kids would be stuck with workbooks! I like how simple and minimum prep there is, and that the projects and crafts use things I have around the house.I really liked starting the year with the overview of the Bible – now that we are on to the explorers and other stories, my daughter asked “why aren’t we doing Bible Stories anymore?” So I think she liked the Bible based content too. I’m really looking forward to doing Beyond next year with her. I have spent a riduculous amount of time looking at the resources for next year and ordering them in hardcover when I find them for a good deal.

        Like

      2. Erin, I’m so glad to hear how well things are going, I think we missed the Bible reading a bit too at that point, but had fun reading it at different times throughout the day. I’ve started looking over our stuff for next year too – I just can’t help myself. 😉

        Like

  3. Love these pictures! You’ve inspired me to get some feather pictures soon! Maybe we’ll even try to say the verse, too! Hope you are all feeling better soon! As for my last comment, I just never want to miss a cry for help! God bless.

    Like

    1. Jenny, You’re so sweet. I remember the whole time thinking – “I just don’t know how to take pictures of feathers.” I’m sure yours will turn out much better. 😉 I’ve been saving pennies for a new camera (which had to be put on hold till we sold our house, because it was more important that we had food- wink) and would love to take some sort of online photography class – any ideas!? Missing seeing you.
      Sending love,
      Jessica

      Like

      1. Clickinmoms.com has some courses that I would like to take when we save up enough pennies for that! Another photographer said those were the only “photography” classes she ever took before becoming a professional. I just took a community education course and just loved it. I get kinda excited about taking pictures! And learning how to do it better. We had M&Ms this morning and I miss seeing YOU there! Praying for you and your family as you adjust to your new normal. Blessings.

        Like

Leave a comment